Open Access Now

Translate into: FR IT

In May 2016, the campaign “Open Access Now” left the floor to the mobilisation “Close the Camps” (see the May 23, 2016 release).


Camps for foreigners in Europe: Open the doors!

We have a right to know, they demand to be free…

Behind the official objective of heading «towards a better management of migration flows», the institutionalisation of the detention of foreigners continues to criminalise those who have been designated as unwanted in spite of not proving effective in relation to its initial goal.

Around 600,000 migrants are detained each year in European Union countries, adults and children, most often on the basis of a simple administrative decision. Their detention – often referred to using euphemisms such as «custody» or «holding» – may last up to 18 months, according to European law, while they await an expulsion that will only take place for half of the people who are subject to expulsion orders [1] and will send them back to their home country or to a third country where they often do not have any important bonds.

The legal basis? Two European texts provide for the administrative detention of migrants, making this denial of freedom systematic:

  • the directive laying down minimum standards for the reception of asylum seekers in member states («Reception» directive);
  • the directive on common standards and procedures in member states for returning illegally staying third-country nationals («Returns» directive », also known as the «directive of shame»).

Their crime? None. These people have merely come or lived irregularly in the country in which they have been detained. They have travelled in accordance with the fundamental right of all the world’s citizens to leave any country, including his own [2], and with the idea that the European Union is a space in which human rights are respected.

Now, once they are detained, these people are not just denied their freedom of movement but also, most often, their private and family life as well as legal advice and/or health care that is suitable for their situation, and an effective jurisdictional oversight on their denial of freedom and expulsion, etc.

The Open Access Now campaign was launched in 2011 by the Migreurop and Alternatives Européennes networks, its goal is to close all the detention camps in Europe and beyond and, in the meantime, to demand and increase accountability and transparency about the reality of migrants’ detention.

This campaign is run by an international steering committee that comprises Migreurop, Alternatives Européennes, La Cimade (France), Anafé (France), Arci (Italy), Sos Racismo (Spain), Ligue des Droits de l’Homme (Belgium), Ciré (Belgium) and Frontiers Ruwad (Lebanon).

Through the actions and resources organised within the framework of the campaign, it attempts to raise awareness about the reality and detention conditions for foreigners in Europe and beyond, to play a role in warning and defending detained foreigners and to document the consequences of this detention in camps, which are daily settings for the violation of fundamental rights.

One of the resources prepared by Migreurop within the framework of the Open Access Now campaign is the interactive Close the Camps map, which aims to improve access to information as widely as possible, by listing the different camps and pratical information concerning them. The interactive map also has the purpose of enabling a better understanding of the consequences of the development of mechanisms on the lives and rights of migrants.

In practice, the European states and institutions attempt, somehow, to conceal this aspect that seldom shines through about a policy that, moreover, is presented as respecting rights.

Thus, today, in most of the EU countries, but also in those where the Union’s migration policy is deployed and/or with which it has signed neighbourhood agreements, access to the camps is strictly regulated, limited, or even impeded, for journalists and civil society. Very often, it is difficult to meet any detainees. Only MPs have a right to visit them. While the «Returns» directive envisages that «Relevant and competent national, international and non-governmental organisations and bodies shall have the possibility to visit detention facilities», the European Commission recognises in its first evaluation report on this directive that compliance with this possibility is not guaranteed in 7 Member States. The assessment by our organisations, which have been engaged in issues concerning detention for over ten years, is far more worrying.

Hence, it is essential, whether it is a matter of pleading for a «humanisation» of detention facilities – which can only prove an illusion –, or for these centres to be closed, or for the rights and legislation that are in force to be respected, for it to be possible to have access to clear information about the existence and functioning of the camps and to be able to report its disfunctions.

The campaign also relies, for the purpose of putting an end to the secrecy that surrounds these sites, on the right to information guaranteed by article 11 of the Charter of Fundamental Rights. This article clearly stigmatises the «interference by public authorities» which seek to prevent citizens from having access to information, and in particular to information concerning the functioning of these institutions.

In view of the unsustainable financial and especially human cost of detention, of its being a constant source of rights violations and that its effectiveness in relation to its official purpose of expulsion is debateable, we demand the closure of detention camps, regardless of how they are named and where they are, not only in European territory, but also in the European migration policy’s partner countries.

For as long as these places exist in Europe and beyond, because citizens have a right to know the consequences of policies that are enacted in their name, and the people who are detained have a right to communicate with the outside world, also in public, we demand:

-unconditional access for civil society and the media to informatiom and to detention facilities,

-for the effective exercise of the rights of detainees, who must no longer face inhuman and degrading treatment, to be guaranteed in official texts and in practice

-for MEPs and national MPs and other people, institutions or organisations who are guaranteed access to visit detention facilities and encourage the development of national and European legislation to better protect the rights of detained foreigners.


[1] According to the European Commission, “With regard to the return of those without the right to stay in the EU, statistics demonstrate that there is a considerable gap between the persons issued with a return decision (approximately 484,000 persons in 2012, 491 000 in 2011 and 540 000 in 2010)” and those who, as a consequence, have left the EU (approximately 178,000 in 2012, 167 000 in 2011 and 199, 000 in 2010), Commission Communication on EU Return Policy, 28 March 2014 (p. 4). Moreover, as can be read in the European Migration Network’s study «The use of detention and alternatives to detention in the context of immigration policies», published in November 2014, «The impact of detention and alternatives to detention on the ability of Member States to adopt and execute prompt and fair decisions regarding return may be rather insignificant» (p. 4 of the summary).
[2] Article 13 of the «Universal Declaration of Human Rights» and article 12 of the «International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights»

Open Access Now - Campagne pour la visibilité sur la détention des migrants
 EN FR IT 

Open Access Now

Traduire en : EN IT

En mai 2016, la campagne « Open Access Now » a laissé la place à la mobilisation « Close the Camps » (voir la communication du 23 mai 2016).

_______

Camps d’étrangers en Europe : Ouvrez les portes !

Nous avons le droit de savoir, ils/elles demandent à être libres…

 

Derrière l’objectif officiel d’aller «vers une meilleure gestion des flux migratoires», l’institutionnalisation de la détention des étranger-e-s ne cesse de criminaliser celles et ceux que l’on désigne comme indésirables sans pour autant donner preuve d’efficacité par rapport à l’objectif de départ.

600.000 migrant-e-s environ sont détenu-e-s chaque année dans les pays de l’Union européenne, adultes et enfants, le plus souvent sur la base d’une simple décision administrative. Leur détention – bien souvent nommée par des euphémismes comme « rétention » ou « maintien »– peut durer jusqu’à 18 mois, selon le droit européen, dans l’attente d’une expulsion qui n’aura lieu que pour la moitié des personnes en instance d’expulsion [1] et les renverra vers leur pays d’origine ou vers un pays tiers, avec lequel ils n’ont souvent aucun lien important.

Le fondement ? Deux textes européens prévoient la rétention administrative pour les migrant-e-s et systématisent une telle privation de liberté :

  • la directive relative à des normes minimales pour l’accueil des demandeurs d’asile dans les États membres (directive « Accueil ») ;
  • la directive relative aux normes et procédures communes applicables dans les États membres au retour des ressortissants de pays tiers en séjour irrégulier (directive « Retour » appelée aussi « directive de la honte »).

 

Leur crime ? Aucun. Ces personnes sont uniquement venues ou ont séjourné de manière irrégulière dans le pays dans lequel elles sont enfermées. Elles se sont déplacées conformément au droit fondamental de tout.e citoyen.ne du monde, à savoir quitter le pays où il/elle se trouve, y compris le sien [2], et à l’idée que l’Union européenne est un espace où les droits fondamentaux sont respectés.

Or, une fois enfermées, ces personnes ne sont pas seulement privées de leur liberté de circulation, mais aussi, le plus souvent, de leur vie privée et familiale ainsi que de conseils juridiques et/ou de soins de santé adéquats à leur situation, d’un contrôle juridictionnel effectif sur la privation de liberté et l’expulsion, etc.

La campagne Open Access Now, lancée en 2011 par les réseaux Migreurop et Alternatives Européennes, a pour objectif la fermeture de tous les camps d’étranger-e-s en Europe et au-delà et, en attendant, d’exiger et  de renforcer la visibilité et la transparence sur les réalités de la détention des migrant-e-s.

Cette campagne est menée par un comité de pilotage international composé de Migreurop, Alternatives Européennes, La Cimade (France), Anafé (France), Arci (Italie), Sos Racismo (Espagne), Ligue des Droits de l’Homme (Belgique), Ciré (Belgique) et  Frontiers Ruwad (Liban).

Il s’agit, via les actions et les outils mis en place dans le cadre de la campagne, de faire connaître la réalité et les conditions de l’enfermement des étranger-e-s en Europe et au-delà, jouer un rôle d’alerte et de défense des étranger-e-s détenu-e-s et témoigner sur les conséquences de cet enfermement dans les camps, théâtres quotidiens de violations des droits fondamentaux.

Un des outils mis en place par Migreurop dans le cadre de la campagne Open Access Now est la carte interactive Close the Camps, qui vise à promouvoir l’accès aux informations pour le plus grand nombre de personnes, en recensant les différents camps et des informations pratiques relatives à ces lieux. La carte interactive vise également à mieux comprendre les conséquences de l’évolution des dispositifs sur la vie et les droits des personnes migrantes.

En effet, les Etats et institutions européennes tentent, tant bien que mal, de masquer cet aspect peu reluisant d’une politique qui se prétend par ailleurs respectueuse des droits.

Ainsi, aujourd’hui, dans la plupart des pays de l’UE, mais aussi dans les pays où la politique migratoire de l’Union se déploie et/ou avec lesquels celle-ci a signé des accords de voisinage, l’accès aux camps est strictement encadré, limité, voire empêché, pour les journalistes et la société civile. Il est bien souvent difficile de s’entretenir avec les détenu-e-s. Seul-e-s les parlementaires disposent d’un droit de visite. Si la directive « Retour » prévoit que « les organisations et instances nationales, internationales et non gouvernementales, ont la possibilité de visiter les centres de rétention », la Commission Européenne reconnaît dans le premier rapport d’évaluation de cette directive que le respect de cette possibilité n’est pas assuré dans 7 États membres. Le constat que font nos organisations, engagées depuis plus de dix ans sur les questions d’enfermement, est beaucoup plus préoccupant.

Il est pourtant essentiel, qu’il s’agisse de plaider pour une « humanisation » des lieux d’enfermement – qui ne peut s’avérer qu’illusoire – ou  pour la fermeture de ces lieux voire de s’assurer du respect des droits et de la législation en vigueur, de pouvoir accéder à une information claire sur l’existence et le fonctionnement  des camps et de pouvoir en dénoncer les dysfonctionnements.

La campagne s’appuie par ailleurs, et afin de mettre fin à l’opacité qui entoure ces lieux, sur le droit à l’information garanti par l’article 11 de la Charte des droits fondamentaux. Cet article condamne très clairement les « ingérences d’autorités publiques » qui empêcheraient les citoyen-ne-s d’accéder à l’information, et notamment à l’information concernant le fonctionnement des institutions.

Parce que l’enfermement a un coût financier et surtout humain insoutenable, qu’il est une source constante de violations des droits et que son efficacité au regard de l’objectif officiel de l’expulsion est contestable, nous demandons la fermeture des camps d’enfermement, quels que soient leurs noms et où qu’ils se trouvent, non seulement sur le territoire européen, mais aussi dans les pays partenaires de la politique migratoire européenne.

Tant que ces lieux existent en Europe et au-delà, parce que les citoyen-ne-s ont le droit de connaître les conséquences des politiques mises en place en leur nom, et les personnes détenues ont le droit de communiquer avec le monde extérieur, y compris publiquement, nous demandons :

- un accès inconditionnel de la société civile et des médias à l’information et aux lieux d’enfermement,

- que soient garantis dans les textes et en pratique le respect et l’exercice effectif des droits des personnes détenues qui ne doivent plus être confrontés à des traitements inhumains et dégradants

- que les parlementaires européen-ne-s et nationaux-ales et autres personnes, institutions ou organisations dont l’accès est garanti visitent les lieux d’enfermement et encouragent l’évolution des législations nationales et européennes pour mieux défendre les droits des étranger.e.s détenu.e.s.

[1] Selon la Commission Européenne, « En ce qui concerne le retour des personnes non autorisées à séjourner dans l’UE, les statistiques montrent qu’il existe un écart considérable entre le nombre de personnes qui se sont vu notifier une décision de retour (environ 484 000 personnes en 2012, 491 000 en 2011 et 540 000 en 2010) » et celles qui, en conséquence, ont effectivement quitté l’UE (environ 178 000 en 2012, 167 000 en 2011 et 199 000 en 2010, voir Communication de la Commission sur la politique européenne de retour, 28 mars 2014, p. 4). De plus, on lit dans l’étude du Réseau européen des migrations « The use of detention and alternatives to detention in the context of immigration policies », paru en novembre 2014, que « l’impact de la détention et des alternatives à la détention sur la capacité des Etats (membres) de prendre et appliquer des décisions de retour rapides et justes peut être insignifiant » (p. 4 de la synthèse, traduction non officielle).
[2] Article 13 de la « Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme » et article 12 du « Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques »