2014 – Open Access Now > English
 EN FR IT 

Articles published in 2014

Austria [EN], Global Detention Project, Austria Detention Profile

[EN] At the end on 2014, Austria opened its first detention center specialized for migrants, after numerous critics about the imprisonment of migrants and asylum seekers in “classic” prisons. Yet, the opening of this new center, considered by Austria as « the most modern immigration detention facility worldwide », encounters several critics, due to the fact that […]

Read more...

Article posted the 2014/12/30

Italy [EN, IT] MicroMega, Visit of the CIE of Ponte Galeria by the MEP Barbara Spinelli in the frame of the campaign “LasciateCIEntrare”

[EN] On December 19th 2014, the GUE/NGL MEP Barbara Spinelli did a visit – announced – at the Center of Identification and Expulsion (CIE) of Ponte Galeria (Rome), in the frame of LasciateCIEntrare, a national campaign against the administrative detention of migrants, and linked to “Open Access Now”. Please find below extracts, in English, of […]

Read more...

Article posted the 2014/12/19

C(h)amp d’expression, « The detention centre is a sacrifice» – CRA of Rennes (France)

[EN] As of today the Open Access Now campaign is relaying testimonies of foreigners detained in the camps of Europe and at its borders. These testimonies are collected in order to make visible the stories of detained people, and bring light to the conditions of detention and access to rights. The present testimonies (in French) […]

Read more...

Article posted the 2014/12/16

Tag(s):

Avvenire. I centri della Vergogna di Malta

Malta [IT] Avvenire. « Migrants as objects », centers of shame in Malta

[EN] « Horrible places » : between lack of hygiene and overcrowding, the conditions of the « reception centres » of migrants in Malta illustrates to what extent being a migrant is a punishment. An enquiry, presented at the Maltese Parliament after the death of a migrant in a detention center, shows the horror of the system of migrants reception […]

Read more...

Article posted the 2014/12/16

Italy [IT] Il Manifesto, Reduction of the budget of the Identification and Expulsion Center of Ponte Galeria

[EN] The budget of the organization in charge of the management of the detention center of Ponte Galeria, Rome, has been reduced by half, which downgraded the already bad conditions of detention. This budgetary cut is due to the change of the firm responsible for the center, and to the method of call for bids, […]

Read more...

Article posted the 2014/12/15

United States [EN] The New York Times, Detention Center Presented as Deterrent to Border Crossings

[EN] A detention center for migrants has been opened in Dilley, Texas, and “accommodates” especially women and children. It has been inaugurated by the secretary of Homeland Security, who claimed for the reinforcement of the US South-West border. The speech, addressed to illegal migrants, has been clear: « it will now be more likely that you […]

Read more...

Article posted the 2014/12/15

Italy [IT] Melting-pot Europe. Padua, 50 Syrians including 8 children, locked in during 11 hours in the cold in the prefecture’s car park

[EN] In Udine, decades of Afghan asylum seekers wander in the streets, waiting for their files to be trated. The prefect of Udine asked some help to the Austrian government in order to manage this emergency situation. At the same time in Padua, 50 Syrian refugees stayed locked up in the prefecture’s car park , […]

Read more...

Article posted the 2014/12/10

Italy [IT] L’Ora quotidiano. The victims, no metaphoric, of the Mafia Capitale

[EN] New arrests have happened in Italy in the framework the affair « Mafia Capitale ». Organizations supporting migrants have worked with the « Ndrangheta », a mafia organization in Calabria, especially on the issue of the over-placement of migrants in reception centers. The Italian government considers heroic its strategy of migrants’ reception, and a huge part of the public […]

Read more...

Article posted the 2014/12/09

Cyprus [EN] CPT, Council of Europe anti-torture Committee publishes report on Cyprus

[EN] The CPT publishes a report on its visit to Cyprus in 2013, and the response of the Cypriot authorities. It notes in particular bad physical and verbal treatments of policemen toward migrants, and a lack of medical resources in numerous centers. The CPT claims for a reinforcement of guarantees to avoid these treatments. Council of […]

Read more...

Article posted the 2014/12/09

France [EN] Inter-associative press release, Detention centres: associations demand the modification of immigration bill.

[EN] Five associations (ASSFAM, Forum Réfugiés-Cosi, France terre d’asile, La Cimade, Ordre de Malte France) who intervene in administrative detention centres (CRA) in France, published their 4th joint report on the situation in these places and observe the persistence of serious abuses on detainees’ fundamental rights.

Read more...

Article posted the 2014/12/09

< Previous articles

2014 – Open Access Now
 EN FR IT 

Articles publiés en 2014

Autriche [EN] Global Detention Project, L’état de la détention en Autriche

[FR] Fin 2014, l’Autriche a ouvert son premier centre de détention spécialisé pour les migrants, après de récurrentes critiques quant à l’enfermement des migrants et demandeurs d’asile dans des prisons. Pourtant, l’ouverture de ce nouvel établissement, qualifié par l’Autriche de « centre de rétention de migrants le plus moderne au monde », n’est pas sans critique, notamment […]

Lire la suite...

Article publié le 30/12/2014

Italie [FR, IT] MicroMega, Visite du CIE de Ponte Galeria par l’eurodéputée Barbara Spinelli dans le cadre de la mobilisation LascateCIEntrare

[FR] Le 19 décembre 2014, l’euro-députée GUE/NGL Barbara Spinelli a effectué une visite – annoncée – au Centre d’Identification et d’Expulsion (CIE) de Ponte Galeria (Rome), dans le cadre de la mobilisation LasciateCIEntrare, campagne nationale contre la détention administrative des migrants, et en lien avec « Open Access Now ». Ci-dessous des extraits, en français, de l’article […]

Lire la suite...

Article publié le 19/12/2014

C(h)amp d’expression: « C’est un sacrifice le centre de rétention » – CRA de Rennes (France)

[FR] La campagne Open Access Now commence aujourd’hui à relayer les témoignages d’étranger.e.s détenu.e.s dans les camps en Europe et à ses frontières. Ces témoignages sont récoltés afin de rendre visibles les histoires des personnes enfermées et faire la lumière sur les conditions de détention et accès aux droits. Les témoignages présentés ci-dessous sont issus […]

Lire la suite...

Article publié le 16/12/2014

Mot(s)-clef :

Avvenire. I centri della Vergogna di Malta

Malte [IT] Avvenire. « Migrants comme objets », les centres de la honte à Malte

[FR] “Des lieux horribles”: entre manque d’hygiène, promiscuité et surpeuplement, l’état des « structures d’accueil » de migrants à Malte illustre à quel point être migrant est vécu comme une punition. Une enquête, présentée auprès du Parlement de Malte après la mort d’un migrant au sein d’un centre de détention, rappelle le caractère sinistre du système d’accueil des […]

Lire la suite...

Article publié le 16/12/2014

Italie [IT] Il Manifesto, Réduction du budget du Centre d’Identification et d’Expulsion de Ponte Galeria

[FR] Le budget disponible pour l’entreprise gérant le centre de détention de Ponte Galeria à Rome a été réduit de moitié, dégradant par conséquent les conditions de détention des migrants déjà mauvaises. Cette coupe budgétaire tient au changement de l’entreprise gestionnaire du centre, et à la technique de l’appel d’offre, dénoncée par les milieux associatifs […]

Lire la suite...

Article publié le 15/12/2014

Etats-Unis [EN] The New-York Times, Un centre de détention présenté comme élément dissuasif pour les franchissements de frontières

[FR] Un centre de détention de migrants a été ouvert à Dilley (Texas), et accueille principalement femmes et enfants. Il a été inauguré par le Secrétaire à la Sécurité intérieure, qui a également rappelé la nécessaire intensification des efforts pour renforcer la frontière sud-ouest des Etats-Unis. Le discours adressé aux éventuels migrants illégaux a été tranchant : […]

Lire la suite...

Article publié le 15/12/2014

Italie [IT] Melting-pot Europe. Padoue, 50 Syriens, dont 8 enfants, enfermés pour onze heures dans le froid du parking de la préfecture

[FR] À Udine, des dizaines de migrants afghans errent dans les rues, dans l’attente de constituer leurs dossiers de demande d’asile. Le préfet d’Udine a sollicité l’aide du gouvernement autrichien pour gérer cette situation d’urgence. Tandis qu’à Padoue, ce sont cinquante réfugiés syriens qui sont restés enfermés dans le parking de la préfecture de Padoue, […]

Lire la suite...

Article publié le 10/12/2014

Italie [IT] L’Ora quotidiano. Les victimes, non métaphoriques, de la Mafia Capitale

[FR] De nouvelles arrestations ont eu lieu en Italie, dans le dossier « Mafia Capitale ». Des structures d’aide aux migrants ont travaillé en lien avec la « Ndrangheta », organisation mafieuse en Calabre, notamment sur la question du placement en centres des migrants en surnombre. Alors que le gouvernement italien qualifie sa stratégie d’accueil des migrants d’héroïque, et […]

Lire la suite...

Article publié le 09/12/2014

Chypre [FR], CPT, Le Comité anti-torture du Conseil de l’Europe publie un rapport sur Chypre

[FR] Le Comité européen pour la prévention de la torture et des peines ou traitements inhumains ou dégradants (CPT) du Conseil de l’Europe publie un rapport sur sa visite à Chypre en 2013, ainsi que la réponse des autorités chypriotes. Le CPT y constate notamment des mauvais traitements physiques et verbaux infligés par des policiers […]

Lire la suite...

Article publié le 09/12/2014

France, [FR] Open Access Now et OEE, Réunion Publique : “La face cachée de l’enfermement des étrangers’’.

[FR] Les membres de  la campagne Open Access Now et de l’Observatoire de l’Enfermement des Etrangers vous invitent à une réunion publique le Lundi 8 Décembre, sur les réalités de l’enfermement en Europe. La réunion se déroulera à Sciences Po. Paris à partir de 19h15. Les interventions peuvent être ré-écoutées sur le site de l’émission […]

Lire la suite...

Article publié le 08/12/2014

< Articles plus anciens